About the Midlands Region of South Carolina

The midlands region of South Carolina spans across the center of the state from the Savannah River on the western border to Sumter. What would bring you to that area? Read on to find out!

  • Aiken, named after William Aiken, the president of the South Carolina Railroad, is one of the two largest cities of the Central Savanah River area and home to the University of South Carolina Aiken. Known as “horse country” the Aiken Steeplechase Association hosts the Imperial Cup each March and the Holiday Cup in October.
  • Columbia, the capital and second largest city in South Carolina, is home to the University of South Carolina and the site of Fort Jackson, the largest United States Army installation for Basic Combat Training. Although the major employer is the South Carolina state government, it has a diversified economy that includes the Palmetto Health hospital system, blue Cross Blue Shield of SC, Palmetto GBA, the University of South Carolina, and the corporate headquarters of SCANA a Fortune 1000 energy company. Several other institutions of higher education are located in the capital city, including Allen University, Benedict College, Columbia College, and Midlands Technical College.
  • North Augusta is located on the Fall Line along the Savannah River across from Augusta, Georgia. Many choose North Augusta as the perfect place to live because of its proximity to both Augusta and Aiken, which provides the opportunity to enjoy “the best of both worlds.”
  • Rock Hill is the fifth-largest city in the state. Located approximately 25 miles south of Charlotte and approximately 70 miles north of Columbia, it offers scenic riverfront views along the Catawba River and is home to numerous nature trails, restaurants, and thirty-one parks which are used for both national and local events. Of the three colleges in Rock Hill, the most prominent institution is Winthrop University, founded in 1886. The other two include Clinton Junior College, a historically black two-year institution founded by the African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church in 1894 now a community college and York Technical College.

Catholic Schools in the Midlands Region

St. Peter’s Catholic School (PreK3-6)
1035 Hampton Street
Columbia, SC 20201

St. Joseph Catholic School (PK4-6)
3700 Devine Street
Columbia, SC 29205

St. Martin de Porres Catholic School (PK3-5)
2225 Hampton Street
Columbia, SC 29204

St. John Neumann Catholic School (PK3-6)
721 Polo Road
Columbia, SC 29223

Cardinal Newman School (7-12)
2945 Alpine Road
Columbia, SC 29223

St. Mary Help of Christians Catholic School (K-8)
118 York Street SE
Aiken, SC 29801

Our Lady of Peace Catholic School (PK4-8)
856 Old Edgefield Road
North Augusta, SC 29841

St. Anne Catholic School (PK3-12)
2698 Bird Street
Rock Hill, SC 29730