About the Columbia Deanery of South Carolina

The Columbia Deanery of South Carolina spans across the center of the state from the Savannah River on the western border to Sumter. What would bring you to that area? Read on to find out!

  • Columbia, the capital and second largest city in South Carolina, is home to the University of South Carolina and the site of Fort Jackson, the largest United States Army installation for Basic Combat Training. Although the major employer is the South Carolina state government, it has a diversified economy that includes the Palmetto Health hospital system, blue Cross Blue Shield of SC, Palmetto GBA, the University of South Carolina, and the corporate headquarters of SCANA a Fortune 1000 energy company. Several other institutions of higher education are located in the capital city, including Allen University, Benedict College, Columbia College, and Midlands Technical College.
  • Sumter, located 100 miles west of the Myrtle Beach Grand Strand, 175 miles east of the Blue Ridge Mountains, 45 miles east of Columbia and 100 miles north of Charleston, is home to several collegiate institutions. Morris college, Central Carolina Technical College, the University of South Carolina Sumter, Saint Leo University, Troy University and Webster University all offer course and degree programs at Shaw Air Force Base. Sumter is home to Shaw Air Force Base, headquarters of the United States Army Central, 9th Air Force, and the 20th Fighter Wing.

Catholic Schools in the Columbia Deanery

St. Peter’s Catholic School (PreK3-6)
1035 Hampton Street
Columbia, SC 20201

St. Joseph Catholic School (PK4-6)
3700 Devine Street
Columbia, SC 29205

St. Martin de Porres Catholic School (PK3-3)
2225 Hampton Street
Columbia, SC 29204

St. John Neumann Catholic School (PK3-6)
721 Polo Road
Columbia, SC 29223

Cardinal Newman School (7-12)
2945 Alpine Road
Columbia, SC 29223